Posted by: Ian | January 28, 2010

Merging ROAR and OpenDOAR

I’ve still some sweet tidying to do, but my code is currently merging OpenDOAR and ROAR this:

OpenDOAR: 1560 records
ROAR: 1564 records

In the database, I have:

2262 repositories*
1854 institutions
1267 networks

With 1191 ‘people’ as managers/contacts.

[*] I reckon I can improve the merging, however I’m going to have to resort to screen-scraping and some clever matching.

The data on content types is not complete yet, however the 1562 classifications I’ve got so far breaks down into the following types:

Institutional 1259
Disciplinary/Subject 204
Aggregating 65
Governmental 34

Now all I need to do is craft an API for people to poke at it – see what they get back, and what needs tweeked.

Leave a Reply

Categories

